Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Tinubu defeats Vice President Yemi Osinbajo and others in the APC primaries [Full Results]

APC primaries

Tinubu defeats Vice President Yemi Osinbajo and others in the APC primaries [Full Results]

Tinubu defeated Vice President Yemi Osinbajo and others to win the APC Primaries.

Touchaheart reports that Bola Tinubu, the National Leader of the All Progressives Congress (APC), has been declared the winner of the APC Presidential Primaries held in Eagles Square in Abuja, Nigeria’s capital.

This online news outlet reports that Tinubu received half of the votes cast in order to defeat his major opponents, including Nigeria’s Vice President, Yemi Osinbajo, and former Rivers State Governor, Rotimi Amaechi.

Touchaheart Nigeria reports that 2,322 delegates from across the country descended on Eagles Square to elect the party’s flag bearer ahead of the 2023 general elections.

Mrs. Uju Kennedy-Ohnenye, Dr. Felix Nicholas, former Gov. Godswill Akpabio, former Gov. Ibikunle Amosun, former Speaker Dimeji Bankole, Sen. Ajayi Boroffice, Gov. Muhammad Badaru, Sen. Ken Nnamani, and Gov. Kayode Fayemi had all withdrawn from the campaign before the APC Primary Election.

While nine APC presidential candidates dropped out, fourteen more entered the race. Mr. Chukwuemeka Nwajuba, Mr. Pastor Tunde Bakare, Mr. Ahmed Rufai, Senator Rochas Okorocha, Mr. Jack Rich, Gov. Ben Ayade, Gov. David Umuahi, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu, Sen. Ahmed Yarima, Dr. Ahmed Lawal, Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo, Mr. Rotimi Amaechi, Gov. Yahaya

Tinubu, who also serves as the party’s National Leader, received 1,271 votes, while his main opponents, former Rivers State Governor and Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, received 316 and 235 votes, respectively.

The Senate President, Ahmed Lawan, who was billed as the APC Consensus Candidate, received only 140 votes, while the Kogi State Governor, Yahaya Bello, who predicted victory in the APC Primaries, received only 42 votes.

Breakdown of APC Presidential Primaries Results

Bola Ahmed Tinubu 1,271
Rotimi Amaechi 316
Yemi Osibanjo 235
Ahmed Lawal 152
Yahaya Bello 47
Dave Umahi 38
Ben Ayade 37
Ahmed Sani 4.
Onu – 1.
Ike Obasi – 0
Rochas Okorocha – 0
Pastor Tunde Bakare – 0
Void Votes – 8.

All twenty-three (23) APC presidential candidates who obtained the N100 million APC Presidential nomination forms were successfully screened to compete in the APC Presidential primary in 2022.

Meanwhile, Touchaheart reports that Tinubu’s election as APC flagbearer means he will compete for the top political office in Nigeria in 2023 against former Vice President Atiku Abubakar of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Nigeria’s main opposition party, and other political party candidates such as Peter Obi of the Labour Party.

You May Also Like

Press Release

FBN Holdings has joined the N1 trillion market capitalization club The share price of FBN Holdings, one of Nigeria’s oldest banks, crossed the N1...

Press Release

2023 9M: Ecobank sets to surpass 2022 performance, while Nigerian business continues to trail Ecobank Transnational Incorporated has recorded a commendable 9-month performance and...

Press Release

Ecobank excels at DBN Awards, wins three awards Ecobank Nigeria won three prominent awards, signifying its’ support for MSME’s in Nigeria, at this year’s...

Press Release

Polaris Bank pledges support for infrastructure development, housing, education, healthcare, agriculture in Ogun State Polaris Bank, Nigeria’s leading digital retail Bank has pledged to...