Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Osinbajo Makes New Request As He Congratulates Tinubu


Osinbajo Makes New Request As He Congratulates Tinubu

Tinubu has been congratulated by Osinbajo for winning the APC primaries.

Nigerian Vice President Yemi Osinbajo (SAN) congratulated Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu on his victory in the All Progressives Congress (APC) presidential primary.


This online news outlet reports that VP Osinbajo also urged for unity among APC members, citing Tinubu’s outstanding achievements to democracy.

Osinbajo said this in a statement titled, “VP Osinbajo congratulates Asiwaju Tinubu on his victory at APC Presidential Primary Election.”

The statement read, “I congratulate Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu on his victory at our party primaries and his emergence as the Presidential Candidate and Flagbearer of our great party, the APC for the forthcoming 2023 Presidential Elections.

“I also congratulate President Muhammadu Buhari and all leaders of the APC for a successful Special Convention and Presidential Primary.

“For many decades, our Flagbearer has shown passion, patriotism, courage and determination in the cause of nation-building. His sterling contributions to our democracy and its progress stand him out.

“His wealth of experience will certainly be critical in our party’s continued efforts to attain a more secure and prosperous Nigeria.

“To all members of our great party, regardless of who you voted for at the primaries, we must now unite behind our Presidential Candidate and Flagbearer to ensure victory for our party in the 2023 elections.

“As true progressives, we must remain strong and united in pursuing our collective vision as a party toward building a country that can provide a decent life and livelihoods for all our people.”

Touchaheart reported earlier that Tinubu defeated his closest competitors, ex-minister Rotimi Amaechi and Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, to clinch the APC presidential ticket with 1,271 votes. Amaechi received 316 votes, while Osinbajo received 235 votes.

Mr. Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba, Pastor Tunde Bakare, Mr. Ahmed Rufai, Senator Rochas Okorocha, Mr. Jack Rich, Governor Ben Ayade, and Governor David Umahi, Senator Ahmed Yarima, Dr. Ahmed Lawan, Osinbajo, Amaechi, Governor Yahaya Bello, and Mr. Ogbonnaya Onu were among the thirteen other candidates.

Nine aspirants have previously stepped down, with eight urging followers to vote for Tinubu and one urging them to vote for Osinbajo.

Governor Abubakar Badaru of Jigawa, Robert Boroffice, Ken Nnamani, Ibikunle Amosun, Dimeji Bankole, Ekiti State Governor Kayode Fayemi, and Godswill Akpabio are among those that resigned before the election.

They urged their followers to vote for Tinubu, as did Mrs. Uju Ken-Ohanenye, the only female candidate.

Pastor Felix Nicholas, a candidate from the United States of America, stepped aside as well, urging his supporters to vote for Osinbajo.

At the convention, a candidate, Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba, the immediate previous Minister of State for Education, was conspicuously absent.

You May Also Like


Cristiano Ronaldo’s Team Debunks Reports of £173m-per-year move to Saudi club Al-Nassr Cristiano Ronaldo’s team has refuted reports that the forward will sign a...


Nike “terminates its contract with Kyrie Irving” over anti-Semitism controversy Kyrie Irving, a player for the Brooklyn Nets, and the sportswear behemoth Nike have...


Japan vs. Croatia: Croatia advances to quarterfinals After losing 3-1 on penalties against Croatia on Monday, Japan’s amazing run in Qatar came to an...

Banking News

Sterling Bank Plc, Nigeria’s leading financial institution, has said it is committed to supporting the annual Ake Books and Arts Festival because it sees...