Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


How Tinubu Was Decleared By INEC Winner Of The Presidential Election

June 12
President Bola Tinubu

How Tinubu Was Decleared By INEC Winner Of The Presidential Election

The presidential candidate for the All Progressives Congress, Bola Tinubu has been recognized as the winner by the Independent National Electoral Commission.

After receiving 8,794,726 votes to win the 2023 presidential election, Tinubu, a former governor of Lagos State, was named the new president.

The INEC Chairman, Professor Mahmood Yakubu, announced Tinubu as the winner at the International Collation Centre in Abuja during the early hours of Wednesday.

Tinubu won the election ahead of other contenders — the Peoples Democratic Party candidate, Atiku Abubakar; the Labour Party candidate, Peter Obi; and the New Nigeria Peoples Party candidate, Rabiu Kwankwaso.

The three front-runners for president each won 12 states, while Kwankwaso only won Kano State.

Former vice president and his closest rival, Atiku lost to Tinubu by a margin of no less than 1.8 million votes.

The 2023 presidential election is the first time that Tinubu contested for the nation’s top job. The former senator left office as a two-term governor of Lagos State in 2007 and is credited with leading the coalition that ousted the PDP from power in 2015 and has extended his influence beyond the South-West region in recent years.

In addition to Tinubu, Obi, Atiku, and Kwankwaso, other contenders for the presidency of the country included Dumebi Kachikwu of the African Democratic Congress, Kola Abiola of the People’s Redemption Party, Omoyele Sowore of the Africa Action Congress, Adewole Adebayo of the Social Democratic Party, Malik Ado-Ibrahim of the Young Progressive Party, Prof. Christopher Imumulen of the Accord Party,

The list also contains Sani Yusuf of the Action Democratic Party, Nnnadi Osita of the Action Peoples Party, Oluwafemi Adenuga of the Boot Party, Osakwe Felix Johnson of the National Rescue Movement, and Hamza Al-Mustapha of the Action Alliance.

According to a count of the votes made public by election officials from the 36 states and the Federal Capital Territory, Prof. Jude Rabo, the state collation officer for Borno, declared Tinubu the victor after the candidate received 252,282 votes from voters in the 27 local government areas.

Atiku and Obi only managed to receive 190,921 and 7,205 ballots, respectively, while Kwankwaso received 4,626.

Tinubu received 231,591 ballots from 23 LGAs in Rivers State, while the LP received 175, 071 votes and the PDP received 88, 468 votes.

But the Labour Party’s victory in the Federal Capital Territory turned out to be a game-changer, shocking both Tinubu and his PDP rival.

Obi’s popularity in Abuja fetched him 281,717 votes while the former Lagos governor and the former VP shared the remaining slots of 90,902 votes and 74,149 respectively. Kwankwaso also polled 4,517 votes.

But Tinubu made up for his losses in some northern and middle belt states which included Zamfara, Kwara, Kogi, Benue and Kogi States.

In Benue, the APC amassed 310,468 votes to relegate LP (308,372), PDP (130,081) and NNPP (4,740) to second, third and fourth places.

In Zamfara State, he polled 298,396 votes against LP’s 1,660; NNPP’s 4,044 and the PDP’s 193,978 votes.

As expected, Obi soared above other candidates in Plateau where he won by 466,272 votes compared to APC’s 307,195; PDP’s 243,808 while NNPP settled for 8,869 votes.

The states won by Tinubu so far include Ogun, Oyo, Ondo, Kwara, Ekiti, Kogi, Benue, Zamfara and Jigawa, while Atiku emerged victorious in Bauchi, Yobe, Gombe, Kaduna, Kebbi, Bayelsa, Adamawa and Akwa Ibom.

On the other hand, Obi has won Lagos, Enugu, Cross River, Nasarawa, Imo, Anambra, Abia, Delta and Plateau states as well as the FCT.

In the final computation, APC polled 8,794,726 votes, PDP amassed 6,984,520 votes, LP scored 6,101,533 votes and NNPP garnered 1,496,687 votes.

Declaring Tinubu as the winner, the INEC boss said, “That Tinubu Bola Ahmed of the APC, having satisfied the requirements of the law is hereby declared the winner and returned elected.”

You May Also Like

Press Release

Union Bank and BFREE Forge Strategic Partnership to Revitalize Loan Portfolios Union Bank of Nigeria, and BFREE, a cutting-edge German-Nigerian FinTech firm, have signed...

Press Release

Zenith Bank signed MoU with French Govt. to create subsidiary in France Zenith Bank Plc. has signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with the...

Press Release

First Bank leads gainers as NGX ASI rises by 0.17% Positive sentiment in the market today was driven by banking stock even as FBNH...

Press Release

ZENITH BANK WELCOMES YULETIDE SEASON WITH AJOSE ADEOGUN STREET LIGHT-UP Zenith Bank heralded the Christmas and Yuletide seasons with the light-up of Ajose Adeogun...