Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Nigeria’s 28-man Squad For The Afcon 2021 Event May Be Found Here

Nigeria's 28-man Squad For The Afcon 2021 Event May Be Found Here

Nigeria’s 28-man Squad For The Afcon 2021 Event May Be Found Here


Augustine Eguavoen, Nigeria’s interim head coach, has chosen a formidable Super Eagles roster for the AFCON competition in Cameroon in January 2021.



Victor Osimhen, Odion Ighalo, and Alex Iwobi all made the final 28-man roster, while Villarreal’s Samuel Chukwueze, captain Ahmed Musa, and William Troost-Ekong also made the cut.



There was only room for one local player, John Noble, the goalie for Enyimba, the two-time African champions.



Since their debut in Ghana in 1963, when they fell out in the group stage, Nigeria is making its 19th appearance at the biennial African showpiece.


Touchaheart Nigeria reports that Nigeria have been paired in Group D alongside Egypt, Guinea Bissau and Sudan. The Super Eagles will commence their campaign against the Pharaohs on January 11 at the Roumde Adjia Stadium in Garoua.



Nigeria's 28-man Squad For The Afcon 2021 Event May Be Found Here

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (AC Omonia, Cyprus); John Noble (Enyimba FC); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, The Netherlands)



Defenders: Chidozie Awaziem (Alanyaspor FC, Turkey); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Leon Balogun (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Jamilu Collins (SC Paderborn 07, Germany); Abdullahi Shehu (AC Omonia, Cyprus); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Olisa Ndah (Orlando Pirates, South Africa)



Midfielders: Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Chidera Ejuke (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Kelechi Nwakali (SD Huesca, Spain)



Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Fatih Karagumruk, Turkey); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Sadiq Umar (UD Almeria, Spain); Taiwo Awoniyi (Union Berlin, Germany); Odion Jude Ighalo (Al-Shabab Riyadh, Saudi Arabia); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Emmanuel Dennis (Watford FC, England)


On three occasions, they have won the African championship (Nigeria 1980, Tunisia 1994 and South Africa 2013). Their most recent appearance was in Egypt in 2019, where they placed third.



All invited players are expected to be in Abuja on December 29, with players from the United Kingdom expected to arrive on January 3.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


Touchaheart – Senator Kashim Shettima, vice presidential candidate for the ruling APC party, has ignited a firestorm of debate with his recent statements implicating...


Touchaheart – Peter Obi, the Labour Party’s Presidential Candidate for the 2023 elections, has warned the Federal Government that its inconsistent and arbitrary custom...


  Touchaheart Nigeria reports that the Lagos State Government has officially lifted the ban on the operations of the Road Transport Employers’ Association of...

Press Release

When I came back to Lagos during one of the holiday breaks, one of my father’s friends told my dad, “Mr. Jimoh, you have...